Thing-a-Week #45

Last year, I made a Marsan Watchcap for my husband for our anniversary. He’s been wearing it a lot lately, out in the garage, because he needed something warm that wouldn’t get knocked off his head every time he had to roll around under a car or something.

Anyway, we were discussing said hat, and how rarely he wants anything I make, and then he said he’d like to have a hat like Jayne wore on “the Message” episode of the Firefly TV series.

Hold. The. Phone.

Did he actually 1) request a knit item from me, and 2) want something as ultra-nerdy as Jayne’s hat?

Yes, and omg yes.

As luck would have it, I bought the yarn a couple of years ago for this exact project. For me, because I never dreamed he’d actually want one. Naturally, I dropped everything and made it right away. Ladies and gentlemen, I give you a Cunning Hat.

Thing a Week #45: Cunning Hat
Unfortunately, he declined to model it.

The pattern is Cunning Jayne Cobb Hat by Keiyla Renee. The yarn is Vanna’s Choice acrylic held double. Simple, easy, and sweetly hideous. (Or is that hideously sweet?)

“A man walks down the street in that hat, people know he’s not afraid of anything.”

Except maybe getting his picture took.

About Elle
May I mambo dogface to the banana patch?

2 Responses to Thing-a-Week #45

  1. lella says:

    Hat brings back memories, so it does. The big question I have is, “Is that a glass head?” And the next question, if you don’t mind answering, is where did you get it?

    • Elle says:

      I have a small answer to your big question: Yes, it is. :>

      I got it a couple of years ago at Pier 1 Imports. Not sure if they still have them… I don’t see why not!

Leave a Reply

