Thing-a-Week #36

It’s the return of Thing-a-Week*!

Back in August, for Thing-a-Week #20, my friend Ewenique and I dyed some yarn and fiber, all in the same color: “Screen Door Purple.” (There’s a story behind that name, but I’m not telling!) This week, I finally got around to spinning the fiber.

Handspun

The 8 ounces of Corriedale fiber spun up to about 430 yards of yummy, plummy DK-weight yarn. Not sure what I’ll do with it. It’s not soft enough for next-to-skin wear, but I’m sure it’ll make a nice… something. Any ideas?

Handspun

* I know what you’re thinking. There’s no way I’m up to #36. My last Thing was #23 three months ago. I missed 13 (yes, 13!!) weeks due to work and other busy stuff. I thought about it a lot, and I had two choices: pick up where I left off with #24 and add make-up days to the end, or skip them, plow ahead, and end in March as originally planned. Since it’s a miracle I’ve made it this far, I’m taking the easier route and skipping the 13 Things I missed. Sorry to disappoint, but I’m sure I’ll still come up with some good stuff before I’m done!

About Elle
May I mambo dogface to the banana patch?

4 Responses to Thing-a-Week #36

  1. Tasha says:

    “screen door purple” – correct me if I’m wrong, but I believe the color derives from drinking too much purple Manischewitz Wine, and in a drunken stupor crashing through the screen door and spilling the remaining wine all over yourself and the door…when awakening in the morning on top of the screen door, you realize that door has now been dyed purple.

  2. ewenique says:

    The yarn came out gorgeous! Are you sure it can’t be worn next to skin? I want to nuzzle it so bad…
    And by the way, good girl for not telling :-)

    • Elle says:

      It is a little rough. Not sure if it’s the fiber or the process (it was a little fulled from the dyeing, difficult to spin). Maybe I can soak it in conditioner or something.

Leave a Reply

