Thing-a-Week #11

It was gorgeous this weekend so I decided to do something I’ve been wanting to do as soon as the weather got nice: scour some fleece. I know how to have a good time, don’t I?

This fleece is a Cheviot / Clun Forest cross that I bought for cheap from Craigslist in March. It was pretty dirty, so I gave it several cold water soaks outside in a bin before scouring. Then I scoured it in my washer with some Seventh Generation dish soap. Two washes and three rinses later, I ended up with this:

Thing a Week #11: Cheviot / Clun Forest Fleece

The tips are still pretty crusty. I’ll have to flick them to see if the dirt comes out; otherwise I might have to start trimming. The locks seem sound, soft, and springy, so I should be able to get some nice fiber out of it. I’ll know more when it’s finished drying!

About Elle
May I mambo dogface to the banana patch?

One Response to Thing-a-Week #11

  1. ewenique says:

    This is way too close to the sheep for my liking (it’s possibly the same issue I have with spinning); what time do you have left to knit?!?!

Leave a Reply

