Stitches West 2011: Day 2

Woke up, got out of bed, dragged a comb across my head…

…and then I went to class. Only one class today, Creative Knitting: Crazy Quilt Style with Myra Wood. It was very interesting, about how to plan and knit crazy quilt knitted pieces. Myra’s a great teacher, and the class materials, especially the handout showing how many increases is needed for any given angle, were very helpful.

Class

After class, I hit the market. Didn’t buy much, just some Bugga and Codex at Sanguine Gryphon. It was super crowded. The rain didn’t deter the crowds at all.

Stitches Market

Stitches Market

Now, I did run across this little gem of an item at one of the booths. It’s called a Stitch Light, an LED pendant light that hangs on your neck and lights up your knitting. Very cool. I decided to get one, but am waiting on someone to get back about whether they want one or not. Ahem.

Stitch Light

Shortly after that, my friend Erin was gracious enough to drive my butt (and the rest of me) over to the Bobbin’s Nest in Santa Clara, where one of my favorite dyers, Three Irish Girls, had a trunk show. As if the marketplace didn’t have enough yarn.

3IG at Bobbins Nest

The rest of the afternoon consisted of food, more marketplace, and some wonderful knitting time with the Nite Owls. Then came the Stitches Pajama Party!

Stitches PJ Party

I do have one thing to say about this PJ party. The coordinator of tonight’s event explained how the party started at Stitches, and she seems to have bent the facts to make it sound like it was her idea. Not a chance. For the record, the Nite Owls had a PJ party on the hotel mezzanine at Stitches West 2010, before this woman was even representing XRX. The party was organized by my friend Cole, but the Stitches staff thought it was a great idea and made it an official party. After this coordinator/community person came on board, she started making it sound like it was all her doing, presumably starting with Stitches South 2010. Shame on you, girl. Maybe you should read up a little on the history of the event, as documented on your own blog:

I can’t say I was actually invited, but I did get to witness the first ever STITCHES pajama party, dubbed Night Owl Knitting by Cole (or coleyknits on Ravelry, the one with the sock monkey), the parent of this brain child. Tipped off that these knitters in their comfort zone would be visited by sponsors bearing gifts, I showed up, camera in hand.

Susan (cocohugs), crashed the party from her nearby Hilton home, showed me her first-time Magic Loop socks-in-progress, and explained that almost everyone came from 2 (exceptionally devoted, if I might add) knitting groups: Llama Llama Knit in Novato, CA and Yarn Cottage, which is sadly no larger in business, but the knitting group party’s on!

Pack your pajamas and let’s make it a regular thing: STITCHES, Friday night, Night Owl Knitting Pajama Party, following the Fashion Show Dinner, location TBA! See you at South!

The list of gifts was long and generous. There were representatives from Cascade Yarns, Malabrigo, and Knitter’s Magazine present.

[Posted by Natalie, Feb 27, 2010]

Anyway, about tonight’s festivities: there were indeed prizes. There were questions like who came from farthest away, who’s been knitting longest, that sort of thing. They also had contests, like crazy PJs.

Stitches PJ Party

The Carmen Miranda look-alike won, of course. Though the coordinator and both judges had no clue and just called her “the fruit lady.” Kids today, I tell ya.

Stitches PJ Party

And I won a prize, too! The prize I won was for closest anniversary. Ours was on Feb 5th. When I told my husband that I won, he was pleased to have had a part in it. Until I told him what it was for: a $15 gift certificate to the Fine Needle and a neck-down sweater DVD. He suddenly lost all interest.

PJ Party prize

(Yes, I brought my charted chicken to Stitches West.)

So that’s it for today! Tommorow, I weave (as in make fabric. I’m not going anywhere!).

About Elle
May I mambo dogface to the banana patch?

2 Responses to Stitches West 2011: Day 2

  1. Elle says:

    Flashing will be tonight, I hope. ;)

    Yes, I sent you mail about the light… ok then!

  2. ewenique says:

    It’s lovely to read a day-by-day account of this event. Please photograph your Bugga! and Codex? I’m living vicariously through you, remember? Actually, why don’t you just flash EVERYTHING you’ve bought so far? pwetty please!?!
    I dunno if the stitch light bit was directed at me but I use an LED headtorch for the same purposes, so no, thank you :-)

Leave a Reply

