Almost forgot

I made a cowl from that homespun Polwarth from last month. The pattern is Later, Gator! by Amanda Berka. The pattern is free, available in the November/December 2010 newsletter from My Sister Knits.

Later, Gator! cowl
Later, Gator! cowl

You’ll notice the subtle stripes, which comes from a “fractal spinning” technique. When I prepared the roving for spinning, I split the roving in half lengthwise, leaving one half as-is and futher splitting the other into four strips. That resulted in long color runs for one ply, and shorter ones for the other.

I also actually ended up only using about half of that handspun on this cowl. I guess I’ll have to make another!

About Elle
May I mambo dogface to the banana patch?

Leave a Reply

