Isn’t she lovely

Isn’t she beautiful…

Romney handspun

I’ve been playing around with that Romney fleece I got late last year. I’ve been doing things here and there since I washed it: I first hand-carded some of it into rolags and spun some test yarn, and more recently I scored a Pat Green drum carder on Craigslist and carded some of the fleece for real.

Pat Green Drum Carder Romney batt

I’ll need some more practice, I think, but I’m pleased with what I’ve done so far. This yarn is around aran to bulky weight, a little thick and thin, very light and lofty. It’s only an ounce and three-quarters, so I’ll have to card and spin up more if I expect to make anything out of it. Still, it’s a start!

Romney handspun

And, over the holidays, I finally broke out the dyes I bought a while ago and dyed up seven 4-ounce batches of fleece in various colors. These were dyed in a crockpot using Dharma dyes.

Dyed Romney fleece

I’ll be carding these as well, and hope to come up with some really pretty batts. Wish me luck!

About Elle
May I mambo dogface to the banana patch?

One Response to Isn’t she lovely

  1. ewenique says:

    she is lovely – good luck with the others!

Leave a Reply

