2009 LYS Tour, Day 2

Ok, day 2. Today I focused on the Seattle stores, getting to 8 tour stores, plus 1 that wasn’t on the list. I did Seattle on day 3 last year, but this time I decided to switch it up.
 
Churchmouse Yarns & Teas, Bainbridge Island
The ferry ride over to Bainbridge Island is such a treat. This store takes the longest time to get to and back, but boy, is it worth it. The free pattern was knit Turkish Bed Socks in Koigu KPPPM. I was sidetracked by a lovely linen stitch scarf and ended up with some Misti Alpaca sock yarn instead.
 
So Much Yarn, Seattle (not on tour)
This is another shop that didn’t make the list this year. As I heard it, they weren’t sure they’d be open at the time. They moved, and their new location is great, tucked above Whole Foods near Pike Place Market. They did have free patterns in honor of the tour: a knit baby jacket in Pagewood Farms Yukon, a knit baby hat & booties in Cascade Superwash 220 Handpaint, and a feather-and-fan scarf in… darn, I forget. I got some of the Pagewood Farms Yukon yarn in a fun "Mardi Gras" colorway.
 
Hilltop Yarn, Seattle
Now up to Queen Anne. The free pattern here is a choice of crochet fingerless mitts in Hazel Knits Artisan Sock yarn and a knit neckwarmer in. I chose the mitts, and bought some Hazel Knits Artisan DK yarn in a stunning blue.
 
Onward to Ballard! The free pattrns were for a knit felted octopus in SWTC Karaoke and a crocheted phone case in Jo Sharp DK Cotton.
 
East now to Fiber Gallery. The pattern here is for a knit Starry Lace Beret in Dream in Color Starry. Sparkly!
 
This is an awesome shop. I try to get by every time I’m in Wallingford, which isn’t often enough. The free pattern here was for a knit lacy cravat in Elsebeth Lavold Hempathy. There was a crochet scarf pattern in Noro Kureyon sock, also. What’s really nice about this shop is that they provide a list of substitute yarns, to make it easy to choose the right yarn. I like Hempathy, though, so I bought some in red. I also broke down and bought some Trophy cupcakes down the hall. Yum.
 
Weaving Works, Seattle
So much fiber here! The free pattern was for a knit cashmere lace hood in Jade Sapphire Mongolian Cashmere 2-ply. Luxurious.
 
I really dig this shop, too. The free pattern was for a cute knit Happy Garter Jacket in JJ’s Montage Collection 10-ply. It was so cute, I had to get some, in the Lollipop colorway.
 
Tricoter, Seattle
This was the last shop of the tour for me last year. I was their first finisher, and they remembered me! Such great people here. The free pattern was for a special LYS ’09 knit scarf, with a chart to emboss "LYS 09" in seed stitch on the scarf. The yarn is Socks that Rock by Blue Moon, in an exclusive Tricoter LYS 2009 colorway. So cool.
 
That’s it for Seattle proper. Suburbs are next.
About Elle
May I mambo dogface to the banana patch?

Leave a Reply

