Hi, my name is Elle, and I’m a yarnaholic.

Hi, Elle!
 
So, I actually have not been knitting for the last week and a half. (Ok, well, I did, but just a little bit.) Instead, I spent my spare time organizing my yarn stash. Oy, what an undertaking. I’ve been using those Rubbermaid under-bed bins to store the yarn I’d bought over the years, and they were scattered around in whatever closet space I could find. I pulled them all out and reorganized. At the end of the exercise, I had 26 bins full of 145 different types of yarn, representing a little over 10 years of knitting and crocheting. This is what 26 bins of yarn looks like:
 

 
No, I don’t have a problem, why do you ask?
 
As I was going through my stash, I could see a clear evolution of my craft. A lot of the earlier stuff was plain acrylic yarn, like Red Heart. Some baby projects, a lot of unfinished afghans, stuff like that. Then as I became more involved in knitting and crocheting, I branched into different types of yarn. It was still mass-market stuff like Lion Brand (evidenced by a ton of Homespun yarn… I must’ve really liked it!), still doing mostly afghans. Then, as I began to discover local yarn stores, my stash turned to wools, fancies, and other fine fibers, and my craft turned to finer work, like gloves and fair-isle hats. I’m no yarn snob, though. I have plans to go back to some early projects to use up some of the old yarn.
 
I do have more yarn than I’ll ever use, so I’ll have to figure out a way to destash. Give/sell/trade on Ravelry, most likely, and I understand there are some charity programs that takes yarn. We’ll have to see.
 
Until then, if you don’t hear from me, I may have been struck by a yarnvalanche. Send help.
 
About Elle
May I mambo dogface to the banana patch?

Leave a Reply

